How council works

Local government is one of three spheres of government in Australia, namely local, state and commonwealth.

Local government councils make decisions about many things that affect our everyday lives, and is often described as the sphere of the government that is closes to the people: the ‘grass roots’ form of government.

In Tasmania there are 29 councils responsible for a municipal area.

The principal legislation establishing the powers and functions of councils is the Local Government Act 1993. Section 20 of the act, describes the role of councils:

  • To provide for the health, safety and welfare of the community
  • To represent the interests of the community
  • To provide for the peace, order and good governance of the municipal area.

More information on local government can be found on the Local Government of Tasmania website at

Clarence City Council has 12 councillors who represent the community and make decisions on policy formulation, budgeting, provision of services, work priorities and strategic planning for the Clarence community.

Council staff provide expertise and advice to the councillors and residents, are responsible for day to day operations and are committed to the implementation of the Council’s programmes and policy decisions.

About us

Find out more about Clarence City Council including the range of diverse services and strategic direction.

Read more


The elected council of the City of Clarence comprises 12 aldermen. Find out more about your elected representatives in the city.

Find out more

Council administration

Find out more about the administration of Clarence City Council.

Read more

Customer Service Charter

Find out more about our Customer Service Charter.

Read more

Special committees of council

Find out more about the range of special committees of council established under the Local Government Act 1993.

Read more


Find our more about local government elections, the voting system and eligibility to vote.

Read more