Roads and transport

Council has the responsibility to provide and maintain local roads, bridges, cycle ways, footpaths, public parking areas, street-lighting and traffic management systems within the City.

The installation of any traffic control devices such as speed humps, line marking and traffic signs also requires the approval of the State Government.

There are also a number of State Government roads within the City that are managed by the Department of Infrastructure, Energy and Resources (DIER). They are:

  • South Arm Highway
  • Tasman Highway
  • Grasstree Hill Road
  • East Derwent Highway
  • Richmond Road
  • Cambridge Road (Tasman Road interchange to Richmond Road)
  • Colebrook Road
  • Tea Tree Road
  • Fingerpost Road

For information concerning State roads contact 1300 135 513 or visit the DIER website:



Safer Rural Roads Strategy

Tasmanian Government - Department of Infrastructure, Energy & Resources