How your council works

Local government is one of three spheres of government in Australia, namely local, state and commonwealth.

Local government councils make decisions about many things that affect our everyday lives, and is often described as the sphere of the government that is closes to the people: the ‘grass roots’ form of government.

In Tasmania there are 29 councils responsible for a municipal area.

The principal legislation establishing the powers and functions of councils is the Local Government Act 1993. Section 20 of the act, describes the role of councils:

More information on local government can be found on the Local Government of Tasmania website at

The Aldermen represent the community and make decisions on policy formulation, budgeting, the provision of services, work priorities and strategic planning for the Clarence community.

Council staff provide expertise and advice to the Aldermen and residents, are responsible for day to day operations and are committed to the implementation of the Council's programmes and policy decisions.

Clarence City Council
38 Bligh Street (PO Box 96)
Rosny Park, Tasmania 7018
Telephone:(03) 62 17 9500

Page URL:

Page last Reviewed: 2018-07-23T15:30:19